ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Weston Ochse is a former intelligence officer and special operations soldier who has engaged enemy combatants, terrorists, narco smugglers, and human traffickers. His personal war stories include performing humanitarian operations over Bangladesh, being deployed to Afghanistan, and a near miss being cannibalized in Papua New Guinea. His fiction and non-fiction has been praised by USA Today, The Atlantic, The New York Post, The Financial Times of London, and Publishers Weekly. The American Library Association labeled him one of the Major Horror Authors of the 21st Century. His work has also won the Bram Stoker Award, been nominated for the Pushcart Prize, and won multiple New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards. A writer of more than 26 books in multiple genres, his military supernatural series SEAL Team 666 has been optioned to be a movie starring Dwayne Johnson. His military sci fi series, which starts with Grunt Life, has been praised for its PTSD-positive depiction of soldiers at peace and at war. Weston likes to be called a chaotic good paladin and challenges anyone to disagree. After all, no one can really stand a goody two-shoes lawful good character. They can be so annoying. It's so much more fun to be chaotic, even when you're striving to save the world. You can argue with him about this and other things online at Living Dangerously or on Facebook at Badasswriter. All content of this blog is copywrited by Weston Ochse.

Monday, January 31, 2011

Major Announcement - New Book Deal

MAJOR ANNOUNCEMENT: Abaddon Books has hired Weston Ochse to write another shared-universe novel, this one for their Afterblight Chronicles novel series.  Weston’s novel, title to be determined, takes place on a floating city off the coast of California. Other authors who’ve written Afterblight Chronicles books include Simon Spurrier, Rebecca Levine, Jasper Spark, Scott Andrews and Al Ewing. Although Afterblight is a shared world, each book stands alone, much like Tomes of the Dead, the zombie imprint for Empire of Salt: Tomes of the Dead, Weston's last book.
The Afterblight Chronicles #1: The Culled 
Death Got No Mercy: The Afterblight ChroniclesHere’s an Afterblight Chronicles primer: The Afterblight Chronicles is a post-apocalyptic shared world series published by Abaddon Books. All the novels are mass market paperbacks and are released everywhere English language books are sold. Here’s a little about the World of Afterblight from the Abaddon Website” The world has been devastated by an epidemic. Although there are pockets of an attempted continuation of civilization, the truth is that the world has gone to hell in a handcart. The reason for this is a disease that has wiped out most of the world's population. It kills almost all those who are not of the blood group 'O neg'. Those people who survive are untouched. Everyone else dies. Infrastructures have collapsed. Mobs run rampant. The only kind of law that exists is that imposed by the people with the biggest guns. In this devastated and chaotic world who can bring hope and order? (From The Abaddon website)

Empire of Salt: Tomes of the Dead"Because of a genetic quirk, about twelve percent of native Americans are left alive. In Central and South America, this is slightly higher. To the East - Korea, Tibet, East Asia - the figure rises to around fifteen percent. In the remains of the USA, this could make them the dominant force. In other parts of the world, where survival rates are higher than the west, the balance of world power (when some kind of order eventually re-emerges) could change. Which, as will become clear, brings with it a whole new set of problems." From the Afterblight Chronicles Bible"


Luke Preece will be doing the cover art for the book. Here are two of Luke's covers --

House of Fear

End of the Line

          ~MORE NEWS LATER~

No comments :

Post a Comment